Instant Pot Chikn Nood Soup

When I tell you this one’s good, I mean this one’s goooooood. You can make it super easy and just dump and go. Or you can feel a little more chef fancy and smoke your meat ahead of time.

Ingredients

3 big chicken boobs OR 25oz canned chicken breast, drained into pot

3 carrots, peeled

3-4 celery stalks

6 garlic cloves

1 small yellow onion

2 quarts chicken stock

Juice of 1 lemon

Salt + pepper

1 tsp or more of:

Chile powder

Paprika

Oregano

Parsley

Rubbed sage

2 tbsp butter

12oz extra wide egg noodles

Directions

  1. Always season your chicken. Drizzle of olive oil, salt + pepper + whatever else you like on it (I like Traeger Fin and Feather rub). Smoke/grill at 350 degrees until internal temp reaches 165 degrees. Rest 15 minutes and chop.
  2. *OPTIONAL* slice and cook about 7 breakfast sausage links.
  3. Prepare your veggies. Thinly slice carrots and celery, cut at an angle if you want to be fancy. Chop the onion, cry a little. Mince the garlic.
  4. Set your Instant Pot to “saute” and add the butter, veggies, garlic and season with salt + pepper. Cook 4-5 minutes.
  5. Add chicken pieces, (drain and dump into pot if using canned), chicken stock, lemon juice and seasonings. Be generous with the seasoning. Also add sausage if adding to recipe.
  6. Pressure cook on high for 6 minutes. Quick release.
  7. Add your noods. Pressure cook on high for 5 minutes. Quick release.
  8. Serve with saltines or sliced baguette.

Tips

I get my canned chicken breast at Costco. They come in large 12.5oz cans and are the most convenient things to keep in the pantry. Think sandwiches, casseroles, dips.

I swear by sausage in my nood soup. It just adds an extra zing to it. Try it sometime, unless you’re a veggie. How’s tofu noodle soup?

Honestly, I never ever measure my seasoning. Just throw it in and when you think you’ve added enough, add a little more.

That’s all I got. Enjoy!

Leave a comment