SEPTEMBER: WEEK 2-DAY 3

Our final lesson on weather before we “fall” into our next season, I mean, lesson.

BOOK OF THE DAY AND STEAM ACTIVITY

The Cat In The Hat by Dr. Seuss

On Wednesday I admitted that I’m not a big Dr. Seuss fan so all I’m going to say about this one is that I don’t remember this book being sooooo long. (and the mischievous mayhem of the cat and “things” drives me nuts) I digress. But I mean, we didn’t even finish the book because it’s so long. Can I put a clenched teeth emoji here?

Let It Snow

This part I enjoyed! And Lane too. We made snow in late summer and it was a mess of fun. I’ll teach you the steps and throw in a few tips.

Supplies Needed

  • baking soda (at least a 1 pound box)
  • foaming shave cream
  • mixing bowl
  • baking sheet
  • various toys
  • cleaning supplies (because this one gets M.E.S.S.Y.)

You are going to need the whole box of baking soda at minimum. I don’t know the ratio of baking soda to shaving cream exactly, but I think I used about half a can of shaving cream. If you’re doing this with more than one child, I’d recommend 2 pounds of baking soda and and entire can of shaving cream.

Place both ingredients in an extra large mixing bowl and don’t even bother with a spoon. Get your hands, or your kids hands in there, and squish that baby up.

Just keep mixing it. Start with more baking soda than shaving cream and add cream as you go. You want to mix to be squishy but not sticky. It’ll start to form a texture that you might compare to moon sand.

Dump the snow onto a baking sheet and throw in some toys. My son enjoyed driving trucks through it, but you could also hide small treasures in there for them to dig up.

Now you get to clean up. For me it took 3 times to fully get all the baking soda off the table.

SING-A-LONG

Put On Your Shoes by Super Simple Songs

HANDS ON LEARNING AND WORKSHEET

Dressed For The Weather

For our hands on lessons on the weather we focused on what you wear when it’s sunny, rainy and snowy. Why do we wear coats in the snow? Because it’s cold. Why do we wear rubber boots in the rain? Because we love jumping in puddles but want our feet to stay dry. Why do we wear swimsuits when it’s hot? Because we like cooling off in the water.

I prepared some mix and match laminated cards with velcro stickers and showed Lane the ropes. I would attach a weather symbol to a card, like a rain cloud, and ask him to dress the character for the rain. And note the gender neutral sloth, which Lane insists is a panda.

CRAFT CORNER

On Wednesday we did a non art project themed craft and we ran with that idea today too. Instead of a craft, we danced out the weather. I made a weather wheel with a spinner. There are 6 different weather symbols on the wheel to dance out, and you can get creative with how you do each one. Here’s how we did it.

When the spinner lands on ________ do this ________.

Sun: put your arms over your head like a big sun.

Cloud: wave your arms in front of you like a windshield wiper

Rain: trickly rain fingers like you do in the Itsy Bitsy Spider song

Snow: hug your arms around your shoulders and say “BRRRRR”

Wind: wave your arms around and spin in circles like a breeze

Storm cloud: stomp your feet and yell “boom”

Leave a comment